Hall of Famer

Dorothy (Dee) Anne Read

Affiliated Discipline(s): Alpine
Date of Birth / Death: 1926 - 2004
Hometown: Montreal, Que / Calgary, AB
Active Career Period: 1948 - 1988
Induction CSHF: 2001
Induction Category: Alpine: Downhill, Slalom, Combined. Official, Coach
Inductee Dorothy Read at 2001 Canadian Ski Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. W.P. McElligott /5225-13.

Born in Montreal, Quebec, on June 21, 1926, Dee Read devoted more than 60-years of her productive life to alpine skiing both as a competitor and respected official. As a competitor, she won the Canadian Alpine Ski Championships (then known as the Dominion Ski Championships) at Mount Norquay, Alberta, in February 1948 demonstrating her unusual versatility by winning the Senior Women’s Downhill event, placing 3rd in the Women’s Senior Slalom, and winning the Ladies Combined.

Equally, her leadership qualities as an administrator of skiing are evidenced in subsequent appointments, including Alpine Chair of the Alberta Alpine Ski Association, a Board Member for Alpine Canada and, for many years, a Technical Delegate of the Federation Internationale de Ski (FIS).

Career Highlights

  • 1970-1972: Coach, University of Calgary women’s alpine ski team
  • 1970-1976: Lake Louise Ski Club, Alpine Executive
  • 1974-1978: Member of the Board of Directors, Canadian Ski Association (Alberta Division)
  • 1975 & 1979: Provincial Points Chair, Alberta, for the Canadian Ski Association
  • 1976-1978: Alpine Chair, Canadian Ski Association (Alberta Division)
  • 1976-1981: Treasurer, Canadian Ski Association (Alberta Division)
  • 1976-1988: Technical delegate to the Federation Internationale de Ski (FIS), responsible for maintenance of international standards in organization and delivery of all international alpine skiing competition in Alberta 1978 Province of Alberta Achievement Award, Alpine Skiing (service category)
  • 1979-1982: Western representative, National Alpine Classification Committee for establishment of international quotas, age groups and development guidelines.
  • 1980: Director & Technical Advisor, Canadian Ski Association (Alberta Division) Technical Advisor for the Lake Louise World Cup Downhill event
  • 1982: Representative for the National Alpine Executive Committee to the Alpine World Championships, Schladming, Austria
  • 1982 & 1985: J. Percy Page Recreation Award, Alberta Heritage Scholarship Fund
  • 1980-1982: Canadian Olympic Development Association, Alpine Committee with responsibilities for assessment and selection of the 1988 Olympic Winter Games
  • 1980-1983: Vice-President Domestic, Canadian Ski Association with responsibilities for alpine competition and racer development in Canada
  • 1982-1988: Advisor national and provincial alpine programs to the Canadian Ski Association Management Committee (Alberta Division)
  • 1983-1985: Development study for Olympic selection guidelines (alpine competition) National Alpine Executive Committee
  • 1984: Member, Board of Directors, Canadian Ski Association (Alberta Division)
  • 1984-1986: Alpine Consultant to the Alberta Olympic Game Plan Symposium
  • 1985: Alberta representative to the Federation Internationale de Ski (FIS) World Congress, Vancouver, British Columbia, June.
  • 1985-1988: Technical liaison to the Federation Internationale de Ski (FIS) for the Calgary Olympic Organizing Committee
  • 1986: Calgary Booster Club Award for athletic leadership in alpine skiing
  • 1986-1988 Senior Technical Advisor, Alpine Committee Secretariat, Calgary Olympic Organizing Committee

Published papers associated with alpine ski development:

  • 1977: “Survey of Alpine Ski Racing Development in Canada” (co-authored with John H. Read)
  • 1979: “Age Limits and Age Groups”
  • 1982: “Alpine Ski Racer Development in Switzerland and Sweden”
  • 1983: “Alpine Skiing Competition as it Relates to the Olympic Selection Guidelines”
  • 1985: “Alpine Skiing Olympic Selection Guidelines – Update”


Note: The ski information gathered here is compiled from a number of sources; it may not be inclusive of all accomplishments. Copyright © 2023, Canadian Ski Museum. For Personal/Educational use only. All Rights Reserved.

Keith Nesbitt, Canadian Ski Museum Chair, and Inductee Dorothy Read at 2001 Canadian Ski Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. W.P. McElligott / 5225-6.

Inductees Jim McConkey, Kate Pace, Dorothy Read, Myriam Bédard, and Bill Keenan at 2001 Canadian Ski Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. W.P. McElligott / 5226-18

Dorothy Read. CSHFM Collection.

Related Hall of Famers