Back to News & Updates

NEWS RELEASE: Six influential skiers inducted into the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame

For Immediate Release (May 1, 2022)

The Canadian Ski Museum and Hall of Fame recently announced the induction of six extraordinary skiers and people into the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame.

“I am honoured to recognize this class of incredible individuals who have greatly contributed to the advancement of skiing and snowboarding in Canada; their passion and dedication will continue to inspire present and future generations,” said Erik Austin, Chair of CSHFM. 

Former two-time Olympic gold medalist Alexandre Bilodeau headlines an impressive list of athletes, coaches and builders in the most current class induction, which was announced during a virtual induction ceremony on April 28, 2022, hosted by Hall of Fame skier Jean-Luc Brassard.

“As you grow up you never imagine to be walking in the footsteps of people that have received this honour,” said Bilodeau when he was presented with a Hall of Fame induction award by CSHFM board member Danny Minogue in Montreal. “I remember watching Jean-Luc Brassard winning in the Olympic Games in ’94 and it was so inspiring. Hopefully one day there will be another guy or girl taking this award and mentioning the work that we’ve done.”

This induction class (Class of 2020) were recognized in 2022 due to delays with the scheduling of physical events due to Covid-19. The Class of 2021 will be awarded at an in-person event in the Fall of 2022.


Alexandre Bilodeau – Athlete Freestyle

Gordon Canning – Alpine Builder

Philip Chew – Para Alpine Coach

Joe Fitzgerald – Freestyle Builder

Darrell MacLachlan – Alpine Builder (deceased)

Dave Wood – Nordic Coach


Media: Link to Induction video

Download: Full News Release CSHFM-NewsRelease2_May2022


For more information:

Editor | Éditeur
Canadian Ski Hall of Fame & Museum |
Temple de la renommée du ski Canadien
[email protected] | (778) 836-7700